Special confinement measures will apply in 10 states starting this Monday

From this Monday, and for seven continuous days, extraordinary confinement measures and special containment barriers will be applied to stop the spread of Covid-19, specifically in the Capital District, Bolívar, Apure, Táchira, Zulia, La Guaira, Aragua, Miranda, Lara and Trujillo states, as reported the Executive Vice President, Delcy Rodríguez.

She indicated that it was decided the suspension of the service of the Caracas Metro (Subway) system, the Los Teques Metro and the railway to the Valles del Tuy during the radical quarantine week, which will begin on June 22 and will end on June 28.

She explained that the presidential commission to stop the spread of Covid-19 presented the proposal to the President of the Republic, Nicolás Maduro, and it was approved.

Rodríguez pointed out that in the rest of the national territory, the radical and guarded quarantine will be maintained, according to the 7 + 7 flexibilization scheme that began to apply from June 1.

That is why, starting this Monday, only the food, health, water, electricity, gas, medicine and telecommunications sectors will operate.

She specified that in the Capital District there will be a special confinement with containment barriers in the 22 parishes of the Libertador municipality, for seven days.

To comply with this provision, the Caracas Metro will not function, so a special plan was designed to guarantee mobility.

In this sense, the surface transport units will cover the route of the Caracas Metro, occupying only 60% of the passenger seats in order to avoid contagions, as reported the minister for transportation, Hipólito Abreu.

Users will have to present the card that accredits them as essential service workers, and must wear face masks.

In La Guaira state, there will be special containment measures, with the exception of the Carayaca, Caruao and Caraballeda parishes.

In Miranda state, containment barriers will be applied in the metropolitan axis (El Hatillo, Baruta and Chacao), Altos Mirandinos, Valles del Tuy, Guarenas and Guatire. The Barlovento axis is excepted.

Aragua state will have special measures in the Zamora, Girardot, Santiago Mariño, Libertador, José Félix Ribas, Bolívar and Sucre municipalities.

In Zulia state, special confinement measures will be applied in all municipalities, while in Táchira state will enter the scheme the La Fría, Colón, San Antonio and Delicias municipalities.

Apure state will deploy special measures in the Páez, Rómulo Gallegos and Pedro Camejo municipalities.

Bolívar state will do so in the Gran Sabana, Caroní and Angostura municipalities. Lara state in the Iribarren, Torres municipalities, and the roadway axis leading to Zulia state.

Finally, in Trujillo state the roadway axis leading to Zulia state, and Boconó, Valera and Pampanito are entering the scheme.