During the extraordinary session on Tuesday, the president of the National Assembly (AN), deputy Jorge Rodríguez (PSUV/Capital Department), declared the period of parliamentary recess, in accordance with article 219 of the Constitution of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela (CRBV).

This decision was approved unanimously, as well as the appointment of Juan Carlos Fernandes and Freddy Molina as ambassadors of Venezuela to Vietnam and Türkiye:

A hug, deputies men and women, thank you very much for your services, thank you very much for your loyalty, perseverance, and strength. I wish you a very happy and well-deserved rest,” said the highest representative of the Legislative Power before adjourning the permanent session declared on August 15.

As established in the Magna Carta, the first ordinary session of the National Assembly of 2023 began on January 5 and concluded on August 15. Making use of article 220, Parliament declared itself in permanent session to designate the new Board of Directors of the National Electoral Council (CNE).

The second period of regular sessions will begin on September 15 and end on December 15 of the current fiscal year.