Arreaza held dialogue with Spanish chancellor after the swearing in of new CNE authorities

The Minister for Foreign Affairs, Jorge Arreaza, held a diplomatic dialogue with the Minister of Foreign Affairs for the European Union and Cooperation of Spain, Arancha González, after the swearing-in on Friday June 12 of new authorities of the National Electoral Council (CNE).

He explained that he transmitted to the Spanish official everything related to the dialogue process between factors of the Venezuelan opposition and the national government, and the appointment of new rectors men and women of the Electoral Power.

«I updated her regarding the entire process of dialogues and search for consensus that led to the appointment of the new CNE», detailed the Venezuelan Chancellor.

Similarly, Arreaza indicated that he ratified to González «The respect and cooperation by Spain in the dialogue in Venezuela», as he pointed out through a message published on the Twitter social network.

The Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court of Justice (TSJ) declared as unconstitutional the omission by the National Assembly (AN) in contempt, in the appointment of new members of the CNE.

Indira Alfonzo was appointed as president of the Electoral Power, and Rafael Simón Jiménez as vice president, while Tania D ’Amelio; Gladys Gutiérrez and José Luis Gutiérrez Parra were named as principal rectors.

The renewal of the CNE is part of the agreements between sectors of the opposition and the national government, regarding the national dialogue board. Initially, they agreed to finalize the appointment through the parliament, once is overcome the status of contempt.

However, due to the division of the right wing factions, on June 4 the opposition parties asked the court to declare the omission and appoint new rectors.

The parties that filed the appeal before the TSJ were: Soluciones para Venezuela (Solutions for Venezuela); Cambiemos; Movimiento al Socialismo (MAS); Avanzada Progresista; Comité de Organización Política Electoral Independiente (Independent Electoral Political Organization Committee – COPEI) and Esperanza por el Cambio (Hope for Change).